The Bartlett’s

Jeremy, Donna, and sons Keaton Rowan and Camden Bartlett

Donna and I live in Tavistock, (2 km from the hop yard) with our 3 sons, Keaton, Rowan and Camden.  Donna works in the dental industry and enjoys the outdoors, running, gardening and chasing her boys.  Keaton and Rowan both play hockey in the winter and soccer in the summer.  A couple more years, we are sure Camden will be following suit.  Myself, I’ve developed a love for coaching and playing hockey and shooting the occasional round of golf.  I also volunteer with the local fire department.  As a family we enjoy camping and spending time at the cottage relaxing on the beach.

I grew up in Tavistock, a very agriculturally oriented community, enjoying sports like hockey, baseball and golf as well as spending time outdoors.  Growing up in Tavistock, the best and easiest way to find summer work was helping local farmers with baling hay, feeding animals, catching chickens and helping in the fields.  Long hot days of hard physical labour were both rewarding and eye opening for a young guy looking to make some money.  The skills and work ethic learned while performing these tasks are what I believe will help me in this venture.

Donna, growing up on a dairy farm just south of Tavistock, knows the hard work and dedication that goes with farming.  As a paramedic for the past 15 years, I spend a lot of time away from family.  When Kyle asked what I thought of growing “hops” along with he and wife Julie, I realized this would be a great opportunity to do something that was very unique and had great potential to be a rewarding experience for our family.  What better way to accomplish these things than by working in an industry we have supported for many years, by growing hops to fuel the craft beer industry!

Leave a Reply